Knowing Your Way When the Path is Hidden

We can be directed toward our destiny even when the path is hidden from us

I was sitting at my desk on the 5th Floor of the Duluth Technology Village.  My boss of seven years was just let go.  Revenues were down 50% in the last 3 years.  Just two staff remained.  We were down to one client.  Then, I was then given the leadership position.  How could we turn the business around and stop the sinking ship?

New Opportunity

I was given an opportunity that day I was placed into leadership.  I had a vision to anchor the office with three major clients. But what steps were needed to make the vision a reality? That first day I sat at my desk and prayed.  “Lord, if you will help me build this office then I will tell others that you were the one who made it grow”.

New Collaboration

I have learned that some of the best opportunities in business are not anticipated.  Most  business plans I have seen are compilations of rigid secular strategies.  We need to write a vision and business plan.  However, growing a team and winning clients will always be more than the sum of your knowledge.  It will always involve more than you can see when you write the business plan.  Where then do you turn for direction?

The answer to my prayer came to me within the next few weeks.  I would be at my desk working and would hear, “David, I want you to go to the EPA Seminar”.  There was a seminar in town in a few weeks.  I wanted to go but had thought I was too busy to go.  A second and third time I heard it again.  Finally, I said out loud, “Ok, I will go”.  Just then I realized I was getting the direction I had prayed for.

New Success

In moments when the path has been hidden I have asked the Lord to lead me.  He has answered by giving me direction in the form of one step, one task to do in a specific direction.  After that step he gives another, and success is at the end of that path.  In these moments I pray Proverbs 3:5-6, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding, and He shall direct your paths“.

I sat down at an open chair at the seminar and struck up a conversation with the person next to me.  We immediately connected.  He was genuine and real. I followed up that initial meeting with a call and within a month or so we received our first project from him.

That first project win would be the start of many.  He was a Regional Environmental Manager of a large Natural Gas Distribution Company.  Within 3 years over $1 Million in project work would be won by our small firm from this man to whom the Lord led me.

Today I would like to encourage  you to ask the Lord to lead you in business.  Trust Him and He will direct your path. What paths in business are hidden from you?  If you are a person of faith, how has your faith helped to define direction in your business?

Leave a Reply

