A Story of Moving From Two Sides – Her Perspective

To let go allows God to mend you

To start over allows God to mold you

To move ahead allows God to mature you  

(Susan Miller, After the Boxes are Unpacked – Moving On After Moving In)

This is the second post on moving.  This one is written from “her” perspective – my wife, Melanie.  

Dave and I were married 11 years with established friends, a home church and close with family when the first BIG change happened.  We were serving happily with my parents in the ministry.  Dave was established at work.  But, I would travel to different parts of the country and would have desires to live different places.  I just never thought it would be part of our plan. But the Lord was stirring in Dave to step out in faith and be challenged.  The Lord opened doors to us quickly thereafter and presented an option that would advance Dave’s career and give our family opportunities.  It would allow us to give our girls the education we wanted them to have.  When Dave told me he thought an offer was coming that would move us to Florida, 22 hours from Duluth, Minnesota, it freaked me out.  I never thought we would move.  Immediately I began to ride an emotional roller coaster.  I would miss everyone.  How would we put together a life on the other side of the country?

But I just wasn’t ready.  In my stubbornness and my lack of faith, I put my foot down.  I said , “I cannot do this”.   So, together we decided to turn down the opportunity.  We gave it up.  We said in our hearts that if  God wanted this for us He would bring it back.  After this decision we were both very let down and felt like something great was missed.

Four months later the offer came back.  It was even better for our family.  I decided that I need to trust Him.  I realized my husband could hear from Him.  That was the turning point. It was when I began to release the plans for my life and let God do what He wanted.  Then, in unity, we decided to take the offer to move to Florida.

I have learned that the Lord doesn’t blindly pull you through life.  He is good enough to lead us and confirm His leading to comfort us.   He comforts us as we walk the path He has for us.  There were many confirmations He gave that comforted me in the move.   The greatest confirmation was in our first visit to Florida.  At Destiny Worship Center, as Pastor Steve Vaggalis spoke, the words went directly to my heart.  He spoke of  stepping into a new season, letting go of the old, moving toward the new, and trusting the Lord.   He spoke that it was time to step in to the new season with faith.  I knew that this was the Lord’s Word for me and it cut me to the heart.  It was what I needed to to move forward.

Here is a list of things that helped me move forward in a difficult season of my life, a difficult move.

  1. Realize God’s plan may be bigger than you.   God has a plan bigger than you can know.  So you will not always understand it. He wants to stretch you  to help others as He grows you up.  He will need to move you from your comfort zone to do that.  Look at the big picture and not just the current corner of your life.
  2. Realize God is good.  God has your best future in mind.  He loves you and cares for you.  He won’t lead you into evil.  It will be ok!
  3. Release your situation to God.  You need to release your situation to the Lord and follow Him.  It’s a matter of trusting what you cannot see.
  4. Release your feelings of Loss.  Release your feelings of loss to the Lord and He can begin to heal you.  In each season of life there is blessing and loss.  Release any sense of loss to Him.  To help me do this, I clung to Psalm 138:8, “The Lord will perfect that which concerns me“.
  5. Believe that the Lord will protect you.  I had to trust not only the Lord, but also Dave.  Trust that the Lord can protect you even if you or your husband make a “wrong” decision.
  6. Realize you are teaching your children:  As a mother, remember your behavior will be copied by your children.  Realizing this helped me stay encouraged for them.  I wanted to model a behavior of how to hear from and follow the Lord.  Remember your words, attitudes, and actions are being watched and affect those that come after you.  Be a Mom that shows them how to step out in their life and live in God’s big plan.
  7. Don’t Fight with God:  Don’t fight God, he knows what’s best for you.
  8. Don’t Fight with your husband.  Don’t fight your husband, he wants what’s best for you
  9. Have a sense of humor – Growth is a part of the plan of your life.  Enjoy the adventure!
  10. Be Thankful.   Be thankful and embrace the opportunities the Lord brings you!

Melanie

Leave a Reply

